This forum has moved, please join us on github discussions. We will keep these old posts available for reference. Thank you!

Using Bootstrap

What is the best way to use Bootstrap (or Foundation) with Apostrophe? (I am brand new to Apostrophe.)

Ideally, I want to install bootstrap via npm, then use Grunt (specifically the grunt-bootstrap-customizer module) to compile Boostrap from LESS, and save the resulting bootstrap.less file to the apostrophe-assets public folder. That is not working do to file path issues with the resulting bootstrap.less file.

That is my ideal solution because I have no idea how to include an asset that lives outside of the apostrophe-assets folder, as is the case when you are using modules installed via npm.

I also have no idea how to create my own template, as no where in the tutorials does it discuss extending apostrophe-templates. Tutorials discuss apostrophe-pages, but not apostrophe-templates. If I could create my own template, I could rearrange the contents of my site’s HEAD by including bootstrap?

Where can i learn more about using 3rd party libraries with Apostrophe?

1 Like

Hi Jeff,

I answered your question about Bootstrap here:

The bootstrap LESS file should only contain relative paths, you should be able to copy all of the assets it’s expecting to the right relative paths within lib/modules/apostrophe-assets/public/css. If that were not the case bootstrap would not work at all when installed in a subdirectory of a website running, say, Apache, and I’m sure that works.