This forum has moved, please join us on github discussions. We will keep these old posts available for reference. Thank you!

Headless theme development (how to deal with previews)

Hi there,

New to Apostrophe. The system and it’s features looks promising :slight_smile:

I’m a frontend developer on the lookout for the perfect headless CMS. I’m really for front-end-agnostic web development. It means that i can focus as a developer on one framework and one language. Until now i’ve mainly worked with Wordpress and it’s REST API. Thus theme development in a headless sense. However Wordpress can quickly feel sluggish. Adding to that; it still centers around traditional Wordpress-php-theme-development. Out of the box, when developing a ‘headless theme’, you don’t have a clean or nice way to generate previews of posts before publishing them.

If I were to use Apostrope, the Apostrope UI and the apostrophe-headless module to develop headless themes, is there a documented method for dealing with previews? Cockpit CMS for example deals with this by loading the end site via an iframe and posting (postMessage) a corresponding JSON-formatted response to the site.

I know this is not a straightforward request, but maybe someone can point me in a direction.

Cheers,
Lasse

Hmm. I’m not 100% sure where you’re going with this, let’s define terms a little…

To a lot of people, “headless” means they are using Apostrophe’s admin UI as a backend, but the public-facing application or site doesn’t use pages generated directly by Apostrophe.

If this is what you mean, preview is pretty easy: you can just rough in as much of an Apostrophe website as you want as your backend preview of the content.

Hay. Thanks for the reply.

To a lot of people, “headless” means they are using Apostrophe’s admin UI as a backend, but the public-facing application or site doesn’t use pages generated directly by Apostrophe.